

University of Melbourne Student Union Meeting of the Students' Council Minutes Tuesday 22nd November 2022, 3PM Special Meeting 4(22) Location: Zoom

Zoom

Meeting opened at 3:08PM

1. Procedural Matters

1.1. Election of Chair

Motion 1: That Millie Macwhirter be elected as ChairMover: Millie MacwhirterSeconded: Mohamed Hadi

CARRIED

1.2. Acknowledgement of Indigenous Custodians

So acknowledged.

1.3. Attendance

Councillors

Representatives on Students' Council	Full name	Attended?
Students of Colour Representative on Students' Council	Mohamed Hadi	Yes
Students' Council Indigenous Representative	VACANT	NA
Students with Disabilities Representative on Students' Council	Jaryd Clifford	Yes
Queer Representative on Students' Council	Chaitanya Rhaguvanshi	Yes
International Student Representative on Students' Council	Aakash Chandak	No
Graduate Student Representative on Students' Council	Haotian (Allen) Xiao	Yes
Southbank Student Representative on Students' Council	Zodie Bolic	Yes
Students' Council (General Representative)	Imogen Senior	No
Students' Council (General Representative)	Mehul Gopalakrishnan	Yes
Students' Council (General Representative)	Ishita Ganeriwala	Yes
Students' Council (General Representative)	Rebekah Kelly	No
Students' Council (General Representative)	Scarlett Padden	No
Students' Council (General Representative)	Terry Zhu-Xin Wang	Yes
Students' Council (General Representative)	Yong Wen Hao	No
Students' Council (General Representative)	Annalyce Wiebenga	Yes
Students' Council (General Representative)	VACANT	NA

Students' Council (General Representative)	Shirley Killen	Yes
Students' Council (General Representative)	Georgia Burke	In Apology
Students' Council (General Representative)	Toby Glover	No
Students' Council (General Representative)	Nate Hollis	No
Students' Council (General Representative)	Ngaire Bogemann	Yes
Students' Council (General Representative)	Zachary Kaplan	No

Office Bearers

Department	Full name	Attended?
President	Sophie Nguyen	Yes
General Secretary	Millie Macwhirter	Yes
Activities Officer	VACANT	NA
Clubs & Societies Officer	Eleanor Cooney-Hunt	No
Creative Arts Officer	Marcie Di Bartolomeo	Yes
Creative Arts Officer	Prerna Aggarwal	No
Disabilities Officer	Shuyan (Betty) Zhang	No
Education (Academic Affairs) Officer	Ethan Georgeou	No
Education (Academic Affairs) Officer	Moira Negline	No
Education (Public Affairs) Officer	Ruby Craven	Yes
Environment Officer	Chelsea Daniel	No
Environment Officer	Zachary Matthews	No
Indigenous Officer	Brittney Henderson	No
Indigenous Officer	Harley Lewis	No
Media Officer	Charlotte Waters	No
Media Officer	Jasmine Pierce	No
Media Officer	Nishtha Banavalikar	No
People of Colour Officer	Hibatallah Adam	Yes
People of Colour Officer	Kyi Phyu Moe Htet	No
Queer Officer	Rook Davis	No
Queer Officer	Rose Power	No
Welfare Officer	Disha Zutshi	No
Women's Officer	Aashi (Kraanti) Agarwal	No
Burnley Campus Coordinator	Kaitlyn Hammond	No
Southbank Campus Co-ordinator	Alex Birch	No
Southbank Activities Officer	Jack Doughty	No
Southbank Education Officer	Xiaole Zhan	No

Other: Phoebe Churches (interim-CEO), Martina Smythe (Manager, People & Culture), Tim Lippis (Coordinator, People & Culture), Ciara Griffiths (minute-taker).

1.4. Apologies

Councillors: Georgia Burke

- 1.5. Leave of Absence Requests
- 1.6. Proxies
- 1.7. Membership
- 1.8. Adoption of Agenda

Motion 2: To adopt the Agenda as presented.

Mover: Chair

CARRIED

Procedural Motion: To move in camera

Mover: Chair

CARRIED

Council moved in camera at 3:10PM

2. Operational Business

2.1. Arising Legal Matters

Motion 3: That UMSU resolves to file a defence to the statement of claim filed in the Magistrates court and Students' Council directs the CEO to instruct UMSU's lawyers to do so.

Moved: Sophie Nguyen

Seconded: Mohamed Hadi

CARRIED

Procedural Motion: To move out of camera.

Moved: Chair

CARRIED

Council moved out of camera at 3:21

- 3. Motions on Notice
- 4. Other Business
- 5. Close

Meeting closed at 3:22PM