

University of Melbourne Student Union

Meeting of the Students' Council

Agenda

Tuesday 30th March 2pm

Petitioned Meeting

Location: Zoom

https://unimelb.zoom.us/j/86435364325?pwd=R0VDT2U1cFQxUEhFdmZmUXkxRUFadz09

Password: 156739

Petitioned by Andoni Fischer, Clea Borthwick, Jan Sam, Georgia McCourt, Harry Black, Rubina Smith, Jennifer Lui, Shreya Bhutani, Tejasvi Madan, Devindee Nugawela, and Raymond Wu.

1. Procedural Matters

1.1. Election of Chair

Motion 1: That Ciara O'Sullivan be elected Chair.			
Mover: Ciara O'Sullivan	Seconder: Nishank Jain		
CARRIED			

1.2. Acknowledgement of Indigenous Custodians

So acknowledged.

1.3. Attendance

Representatives on	Full name	Attended?	Number of councils
Students' Council			attended
Students of Colour	Kevin Mao	Y	6
Representative on			
Students' Council			
Students with	Clea Porteus	N	3
Disabilities	Borthwick		
Representative on			
Students' Council			
Queer	Georgia McCourt	Ν	5
Representative on			
Students' Council			
International	Janise Sam Qian Yee	Y	2
Student			
Representative on			
Students' Council			
Graduate Student	Shreya Bhutani	Y	5
Representative on			
Students' Council			

	D 1111		
Students' Council	Raymond Wu	Ν	5
(General			
Representative)			
isaStudents' Council	Andoni Fischer	Y	6
(General			
Representative)			
Students' Council	Devindee Nugawela	Ν	3
(General			
Representative)			
Students' Council	Jennifer Lui	Y	6
(General			
Representative)			
Students' Council	Xinling Lu	N	1
(General	8-24	- •	-
Representative)			
Students' Council	Rubina Smith	Y	6
(General		-	Ň
(General Representative)			
Students' Council	Joanna Guelas	N	4
(General	Joanna Gueras	14	7
(General Representative)			
Students' Council	Catriona Smith	N	4
(General	Cautona Siniui	IN	4
Representative)	V ' D	NT	
Students' Council	Xavier Dupe	Ν	5
(General			
Representative)			
Students' Council	Alex Wood	Ν	4
(General			
Representative)			
Students' Council	Charlotte Macpherson	Ν	4
(General			
Representative)			-
Students' Council	Harry Black	Ν	2
(General			
Representative)			
Students' Council	Sian Tjia Hennessy	Y	5
(General			
Representative)			
Students' Council	Ethan Alex Georgeou	Y	4
(General			
Representative)			
Students' Council	Tejasvi Madan	Y	3
(General			
Representative)			
Students' Council	Brittney Henderson	Y	6
(Indigenous			
Representative			

Office Bearers

Department	Full name	Attended?	Number of councils
Deschart	I 1 D 1 1	NT	attended
President	Jack Buksh	N Y	4
General Secretary	Ciara O'Sullivan		6
Activities Officer	Christos Preovolos	Y	5
Activities Officer	Phoebe Chen	Y	5
Clubs & Societies	Muskaan Hakhu	Y	5
Officer		37	
Clubs & Societies	Kalyana Vania	Y	5
Officer		**	
Disabilities Officer	Brigit Doyle	Y	5
Disabilities Officer	Lindsay Tupper-Creed	Y	6
Education (Public	Tejas Gandhi	Y	5
Affairs) Officer			
Education (Public	Hannah Krasovec	Y	6
Affairs) Officer			
Environment Officer	James Park	Y	6
Environment Officer	Ann Nguyen	Y	6
Media Officer	Lauren Berry	N	5
Media Officer	Pavani	Y	6
	Ambagahawattha		
Media Officer	Ailish Hallinan	N	5
People of Colour Officer	Emily AlRamadhan	Y	6
People of Colour Officer	Mohamed Hadi	Y	6
Queer Officer	Amy Bright	Y	4
Queer Officer	Laura Ehrensperger	Y	5
Welfare Officer	Allen Xiao	Y	6
Welfare Officer	Hue Man Dang	Y	6
Women's Officer	Srishti Chatterjee	N	4
Women's Officer	Mickhaella Ermita	Y	6
Education (Academic	Planning Jay Vyn Saw	Y	6
Affairs) Officer	r anning say vyn Saw	-	
Education (Academic	Jennisha Arnanta	Y	6
Affairs) Officer	sommonia i manua	*	
Creative Arts Officer	Vaishnavi Ravikrishna	Y	5
Creative Arts Officer	Merryn Hughes	N	4
Burnley Campus	Kaitlyn Hammond	N	2
Coordinator	rand in traininoita		
Southbank Campus	William Hall	Y	4
Co-ordinator		-	
Indigenous Officer	Shanysa Jayde	Y	5
	McConville		

Others: Justin Baré (UMSU CEO), Sarah Black, Nancy Shi, William Etherington, Nishank Jain, Lauren Scott.

1.4. Apologies

Officers: Ailish Hallinan, Lauren Berry, Merryn Hughes, Jack Buksh, Kaitlyn Hammond

Councillors: Clea Borthwick, Georgia McCourt, Devindee Nugawela, Raymond Wu, Joanna Guelas

1.5. Proxies

Clea Borthwick to Nancy Shi, Georgia McCourt to William Etherington, Devindee Nugawela to Nishank Jain, Raymond Wu to Lauren Scott

1.6. Membership

No changes.

1.7. Adoption of Agenda

Motion 2: To adopt the agenda as presented. Mover: Ciara O'Sullivan (Chair)

CARRIED

2. Confirmation of Previous Minutes

Special Council so unable to confirm.

Procedural to move to item 10.1 Mover: Ciara O'Sullivan (Chair).

CARRIED

Motion 3: To accept motion 10.1 - Constitutional Legal Advice Expenditure.Mover: Rubina SmithSeconder: Andoni FischerCARRIED

3. Conflicts of Interest Declaration

None declared.

4. Matters Arising from the Minutes

None.

5. Correspondence

None.

6. Office Bearer Reports

None.

Procedural to move in camera.

Mover: Ciara O'Sullivan (Chair)

CARRIED

7. CEO Report

Justin spoke to his report.

Motion 4: To accept the CEO Report.

Mover: Ciara O'Sullivan (Chair)

CARRIED

8. Other Reports

None.

9. Operational Business

None.

10. Motions on Notice

10.1. Constitutional Legal Advice Expenditure

Covered above.

11. Motions without Notice

11.1. Southbank Coffee

Motion 5: To accept the motion.

Mover: Will Hall

Seconder: J

CARRIED

11.2. Media Mailing

Motion 6: To accept the motion.

Mover: Nishan

CARRIED

Seconder: Andoni Fischer

12. Other Business

Other.

13. Next Meeting

TBA

14. Close

Council closed at 2:10pm

10.1. Constitutional Legal Advice Expenditure

Preamble: As directed in council 4(21), the General Secretary contacted Moores to seek legal advice on constitutional amendments, electoral regulation amendments, and the drafting of regulations to pay the Southbank Campaigns Coordinator and Events and Activities Coordinator. A proposal with three options was provided. The first option 'Option A' was endorsed by the Constitutional Working Group on the advice of the CEO and the General Secretary.

Motion: To approve \$9,000 from the Whole of Union Budget to pay for legal consultation and assistance with drafting new regulations and constitutional and regulatory amendments.

11.1 Southbank Coffee

That Council approves \$3400.00 from the Southbank Orientation Events Budget Line to pay for coffee vouchers for Southbank students.

11.2. Media Mailing

That we pass \$43.50 from the Printing line of the Media Department budget to pay GST costs for mailing Edition 1 to students