2016 Union House Theatre Award Winners

On Thursday 27th October we celebrated a fabulous year in student theatre in the Guild Theatre.
Over 30 awards were presented on the night.
Check out the Facebook Photo Album

Best Set/Costume Design: 1x $200
James O’Donoghue – Who’s Afraid of the Working Class? – Four Letter Word Theatre

Best Lighting Design: 1x $200
Jess Herne – Remember Ronald Ryan – Queen’s College Music and Drama Society

Outstanding Live Music Award: 1x $500
Chinese Music Group – Turning Back the Hands of Time

Outstanding Sound Design/Composition: 1x $200
Louis Stevens – Twelfth Night – Melbourne University Shakespeare Company

Best Newcomer: 1x $500
Open Body Theatre – body of work

Audience Engagement Award: 1x $500
Melbourne University Chinese Theatre Group – The Physicists, The Cherry Orchard

Stage Management/Production Award: 1x $200
Marley Holloway-Clarke – Grease – Trinity College Musical Theatre Society

Outstanding Ensemble: 1x $500
Periscope Productions – The Apocalypse Bear Trilogy

Best Dance/Choreography: 1x $500 (shared)
Rizqy Aryadi (Reba) – Mig[Ration]ality, Ascendance – Flare Dance Ensemble
Melbourne University Sri Lankan Students Association – On Time

Outstanding Performance: 2x $200
Maddi Cullen  – The Apocalypse Bear Trilogy – Periscope Productions
Malith Ranatunga – On Time – Melbourne University Sri Lankan Students Association

Best Performance in a Musical: 2x $200
Catherine De Luca – The Drowsy Chaperone – St Hildas College Theatre Group
Georgie Pender – Assassins – University of Melbourne Music Theatre Association

Best Supporting Role: 1x $200
Eleanor Davey – Company – Intercollegiate Activities Council

Best Comedy Performance: 1x $200
Ella Lawry – Homecoming: The Melbourne Uni Law Revue

Most Ambitious/Risk Taking Production: 1x $500 + Arts House tickets
International House Theatre Group – Blackrock

Most Impressive Direction: 1x $200
Ensemble – The Unbearable Whiteness of Being, Tastings

Best New Writing /Adaptation: 1x $200
Jean Tong – TERRORISM, Triptych – Four Letter Word Theatre

Outstanding Production: 1x $500 + Free Fringe Registration
University of Melbourne Music Theatre Association – Urinetown

La Mama Emerging Producer/Arts Manager Award: Placement and mentorship at La Mama and a subscription to the La Mama 2017 season
Alexandre Guérin

MTC Awards: 4x Subscription Packages to 3 plays at the MTC in 2017 for Excellence Off Stage
Jacob Sacher – Mudcrabs in Space – Mudcrabs
Jesse Hunter – Captain Australia: Emy War – Medleys
Harriet Wallace-Mead, Laetitia Djaja, Sam Osborn – Tastings, UMSU Creative Arts Office
Dom Weintraub & Phoebe Witts – Tertiary – Nude Theatre

Robert McDonald MTC Professional Development Award: Secondment to the MTC and a double subscription package to the MTC 2017 season
Madeleine Kerr

Louise Homfrey Award: 2x $200 + book voucher for Outstanding Performances
Jack Bennett  – A Midsummer Night’s Dream – Newman College Theatre Group
Seren Oroszvary – Private Lives – Balloon Head Theatre

Murray Sutherland Award: 2x $500 for Outstanding Participating in a Production
Sian Morrison – Remember Ronald Ryan – Queen’s College Music and Drama Society
Kate Douglas – Rent – Whitley Annual Residential Theatre Society

Hannah Barry Memorial Award: $1000 awarded for Artistic Merit to provide an opportunity to undertake a new creative work
Freya McGrath & Laura Collins – A Dog Called Monkey

UMSU Creative Arts Office Access Award
Four Letter Word Theatre


These awards are generously provided by the University of Melbourne Theatre Board unless otherwise stated.