Union House Theatre Awards Night

And the winners are…


Murray Sutherland Award

Queen’s College Award Winner – Ellie Hamill 

Awards Committee Winner – Amy Spurgeon 


Hannah Barry Memorial Award

Madeleine Kerr & Karla Livingston Pardy  


“Behind the Curtain” Melbourne Theatre Company Awards

Nathan Kramer – 10 out of 12 – Ormond College and Heathers: The Musical – University of Melbourne Music Theatre Assoc UMMTA

Ashleigh Morris – MUDFEST – Creative Producer

Reis Low – Body of work


“Behind the Curtain” La Mama Award

Freya McGrath – FLW – Body of Work


“Behind the Curtain” – Production Award

Alex McFadden – Melbourne University Comedy Revue Board


Robert MacDonald MTC Professional Development Award

Karla Livingston-Pardy  


Most Outstanding New Work

Baby – Four Letter Word Theatre – FLW Team


Most Outstanding New Work – Mudfest

Apocalypse Tapes –  Four Letter Word Theatre – James Macaronas


Access Integrated into Design

Romeo is not the Only Fruit – DisColourNation


Most Outstanding Lighting Design

Jacob Trethowan  – Mirror’s Edge – Union House Theatre


Most Outstanding Sound Design

Edwin Cheah –  The Apocalypse Tapes – Four Letter Word Theatre


Most Outstanding AV Design / Digital Design

Alice Bouchard – Love and Information – Intercollegiate Activities Council ICAC


Most Outstanding Costume / Make-up Design

Maddy Nibali – Lear – Melbourne University Shakespeare Company MUSC


Most Outstanding Set Design

Harriet Wing – 10 out of 12 – Ormond College


Outstanding Performance in a Musical

Sofia Habel – Fame – St Mary’s College

Ahila Navaratnam – Heathers: The Musical – University of Melbourne Music Theatre Assoc UMMTA


Outstanding Performance in a Drama or Comedy

Yuan Lu – Room 648 – Melbourne University Chinese Theatre Group

Antonia Yip Siew Pin  – Mirror’s Edge – Union House Theatre


Outstanding Ensemble

Unspoken – Flare Dance Ensemble


Conductor Award

James Mountain – Legally Blonde – Queens College Music and Drama Society


Outstanding Movement / Choreography

Joe Wang & Towen Chan – Metronome – Flare Dance Ensemble


Most Outstanding Comedy

Room 648 – Melbourne University Chinese Theatre Group


Most Outstanding Supporting Cast in a Musical

Heathers: The Musical -“The Heathers” –  University of Melbourne Music Theatre Assoc UMMTA


Audience Engagement/Impact

Unspoken – Flare Dance Ensemble


Outstanding Band / Musical Director

Cry Baby – Whitley Annual Residential Theatre Society WARTS


Exceptional Stage Manager Award

Mirror’s Edge – Union House Theatre – Laura Barnes (student)


Most Outstanding Direction 1 x $200

Rachel Shrives – Filthy Rick – Melbourne University Shakespeare Company MUSC


Creative Risk and Artistic Leadership Award

University of Melbourne Music Theatre Assoc UMMTA 


Professional Development Award

Sitzprobe – University of Melbourne Music Theatre Assoc UMMTA


Best Production

Filthy Rick – Melbourne University Shakespeare Company MUSC