

University of Melbourne Student Union Meeting of the Students' Council Minutes Friday 20 November 2023, 3pm Meeting 17(23) Location: Level 4 Lecture Theatre, Building 168

Meeting opened at 3:03 PM

1. Procedural Matters

1.1. Election of Chair

Motion 1: That Disha Zutshi e elected as Chair.		
Mover: Divyanshi Sati	Seconded: Evelyn Thompson	
CARRIED		

1.2. Acknowledgement of Indigenous Custodians

So acknowledged.

1.3. Attendance

Councillors

Representatives on Students' Council	Full name	Attended?
Students of Colour Representative on Students' Council	Reham Elzeiny	Leave
Students' Council Indigenous Representative	N/A	N/A
Students with Disabilities Representative on Students' Council	Sameeksha Mudigere Keshav	Yes
Queer Representative on Students' Council	N/A	N/A
International Student Representative on Students' Council	Luv Pravin Golecha	Yes
Graduate Student Representative on Students' Council	Nan Jiang	No
Southbank Student Representative on Students' Council	Caitlin Wessner	Leave
Students' Council (General Representative)	N/A	N/A
Students' Council (General Representative)	Divyanshi Sati	Yes
Students' Council (General Representative)	Rahul Mittal	Yes
Students' Council (General Representative)	Enzhe (Kevin) Li	Yes
Students' Council (General Representative)	Evelyn Thompson	Yes
Students' Council (General Representative)	Inderpreet Singh	No
Students' Council (General Representative)	Isabella Beiraghi	No
Students' Council (General Representative)	Isioma Ogwu	Yes
Students' Council (General Representative)	Marcie Di Bartolomeo	Leave
Students' Council (General Representative)	Mohan Kwatra	No
Students' Council (General Representative)	Raphael Duffy	No
Students' Council (General Representative)	N/A	N/A
Students' Council (General Representative)	Watey Diep	No
Students' Council (General Representative)	Stefan Gavrilov	Yes
Students' Council (General Representative)	Kunal Dewani	Yes

Office Bearers

Department	Full name	Attended?
President	Hiba Adam	Leave
General Secretary	Disha Zutshi	Yes
Activities Officer	Tvisha Purswani	No
Activities Officer	Arya Kushwaha	Leave
Creative Arts Officer	Savier D'Arsie-Marquez	No
Clubs & Societies Officer	Renee Thierry	No
Clubs & Societies Officer	Kimmy Ng	Leave
Disabilities Officer	Adam Whitehead	Leave
Disabilities Officer	Alice Zhao	Leave
Education (Academic Affairs) Officer	Carlos Lagos Martin	No
Education (Academic Affairs) Officer	Mary Kin Chan	Leave
Education (Public Affairs) Officer	Taj Takahashi	Yes
Environment Officer	Emma Dynes	Leave
Environment Officer	James Gallagher	Yes
Indigenous Officer	N/A	N/A
Media Officer	Weiting Chin	No
Media Officer	Xiaole Zhan	No
Media Officer	Josh Davis	Yes
Media Officer	Carmen Chin	No
People of Colour Officer	Mohamed Hadi	Leave
Queer Officer	Mehul Gopalakrishnan	Leave
Queer Officer	Sum To Leslie Ho	Leave
Welfare Officer	Ishita Ganeriwala	No
Welfare Officer	Yashica Mishra	No
Women's Officer	Ngaire Bogemann	No
Women's Officer	Alessandra Soliven	No
Burnley Campus Coordinator	Rhys Browning	No
Southbank Campus Co-ordinator	Annalyce Wiebenga	Leave
Southbank Campus Co-ordinator	Jack Doughty	Leave
Southbank Activities Officer	Helen Shen	Leave
Southbank Education Officer	Zodie Bolic	Leave

Other: Sara Pheasant, Priyanka Pandey, Lucy Rachman Vascotto, Rose Power.

1.4. Apologies

1.5. Proxies

1.6. Leave of Absence Requests

- 1.6.1. OBs: Kimberley Ng, Jack Doughty, Zodie Bolic, Helen Shen, Annalyce Wiebenga, Alice Zhao, Mary Chan, Emma Dynes, Mohamed Hadi, Mehul Gopalakrishnan
- 1.6.2. Councillors: Marcie Di Bartolomeo, Reham Elzeiny, Caitlin Wessner

1.7. Membership

1.8. Adoption of Agenda

Motion 2: To adopt the Agenda as presented.

Mover: Chair

CARRIED

Procedural Motion: To consider Item 7 after Motions Without Notice

Mover: Chair

CARRIED

2. Confirmation of Previous Minutes

2.1. Minutes 15(23)

Motion 3: To accept the minutes as a true and accurate record.

Moved: Chair

CARRIED

- 3. Conflicts of Interest Declaration
- 4. Matters Arising from the Minutes
- 5. Correspondence
- 6. Office Bearer Reports

Motion 4: To waive off the OB Report requirement for this council due to the last council being last week.

Moved: Divyanshi Sati

Seconded: Kunal Dewani

CARRIED

7. CEO Report

Procedural Motion: To move in camera for the CEO Report

Moved: Chair

CARRIED

Council moved in camera at 3:10 PM

Motion 5: To accept the CEO's report

Moved: Chair

CARRIED

Council moved in camera at 3:11 PM

8. Other Reports

9. Operational Business

9.1. NUS NATCON Grants Delegation

Motion 6: To delegate the responsibility for NUS NATCON Grants to Opsub.Mover: Divyanshi SatiSeconder: Kunal DewaniCARRIED

10. Motions on Notice

10.1. Gundui Bunjil Editors

Motion 7: To pass \$3000 (\$750*4 Editors) from the Contractor Fees (03-60-670-3846) Budget line of the Indigenous DepartmentMoved: Enzhe LiSeconded: Luv Golecha

CARRIED

11. Other Business (Motions Without Notice)

Procedural Motion: To consider motions 11.1 to 11.3 en bloc.				
Mover: Josh Davis	Seconded: Evelyn Thompson			
CARRIED				

11.1. Media Motion – PPCA License

Motion: To pass \$2,661.00 from the Radio budget line of the Media Department's budget to pay the PPCA Internet Radio Streaming Licence fees for Radio Fodder for the period between 30 June 2021 and 31 December 2023. This represents fees for the current quarter, immediate future quarter, and previous quarters for which we were in arrears over COVID. We are required to pay these fees to broadcast and remain legally compliant.

Mover: Josh Davis

Seconder: Evelyn Thompson

11.2. Farrago Archiving

Motion: To pass \$1000 from the Programs > General budget line of the Media Department's budget to pay for the creation of bound archival copies of all 2023 Media Department publications. This forms part of our legal obligation to submit published material to the State Library of Victoria.

Mover: Josh Davis

Seconder: Evelyn Thompson

11.3. Fitzpatrick Awards & Edition 6 Launch

Motion: To redirect and pass the following unspent funds from the below budget lines to cover additional costs for our end-of-year Fitzpatrick Awards/Edition 6 Launch event:

\$1180.96 from Subscriptions and Literature

\$1001.85 from Grants

\$840 from Promotion Expenses > Promotion - General

To a total of \$3022.81 across all budget lines.

Mover: Josh Davis

Seconder: Evelyn

Seconded: Evelyn Thompson

Motion 8: To accept motions 11.1 to 11.3 en bloc.

Mover: Josh Davis

CARRIED

12. Next Meeting

In November after Exams (Last Council): HAVE ANNUAL REPORTS READY OBS!!!!

13. Close

Meeting closed at 3:12 PM