VCA Committee

The aims and objectives of the Victorian College of the Arts Department are:

(a)   to provide a suitable cultural and social climate on campus and create opportunities for, and encourage, the development of social interaction between Students.
(b)   to provide for, protect and develop the interests of Students with regard to financial, social, educational, professional and welfare matters and encourage interest groups and clubs and societies on campus.
(c)   to represent Students’ interests in any matters as deemed necessary or desirable by the Department.
(d)   to provide, or ensure the provision of, facilities and services for the academic support, professional education, refreshment, entertainment, recreation and convenience of Students.
(e)   to occupy and operate premises, which shall be a common meeting place and social centre for Students.
(f)    to assume other such responsibilities and organise and direct such activities as may be deemed appropriate for giving expression to the interests of the Department, or for carrying out any of the objects aforesaid.
(g)  to be represented within UMSU and to cooperate with the Departments of UMSU and contribute to the specified aims and objectives of UMSU.
(h)  to afford a recognised means of communication between students and the authorities of the campus, University, the community at large and other organisations of students.

Current Membership

The voting Representatives of the Victorian College of the Arts Department Committee are elected from Members who are enrolled in a higher education course at the Southbank Campus. The VCASA Committee consists of the VCA Campus Co-ordinator, Activities and Events Co-ordinator and Campaigns Co-ordinator as non-voting members, the Creative Arts Officers as ex-officia non voting members and 7 voting members. The current members and the tickets they were elected on (if any) are:

VCA Campus Co-ordinator

Nicholas Lam (More!) Elected unopposed 

VCA Campaigns Co-ordinator

Clara Cruz Jose (More!) Elected unopposed 

VCA Activities & Events Co-ordinator

Marcus Henry Peters (More!) Elected unopposed 

Creative Arts Officers

Harriet Wallace-Mead & Sara Pascoe (Activate)

Voting Members

Chris King (More!) Elected unopposed 

Gabriella D’Costa (More!) Elected unopposed 

Evrim Sen (More!) Elected unopposed 

Stephanie Neoh Yong Shi (More!) Elected unopposed 

Carmen-Sibha Keiso (More!) Elected unopposed 

Eleanor Kirk (More!) Elected unopposed 

The remaining position was left vacant at the election due to insufficient nominations.


2017 Minutes

2016 Minutes

The VCA Committee has not had a quorate meeting in 2016

2015 Minutes

2014 Minutes

The VCA Committee has not had a quorate meeting in 2014

2013 Minutes

NB: This committee was called the VCAM Student Association from 2010-2013

2012 Minutes

The VCA Committee has not had a quorate meeting in 2012

2011 Minutes

The VCA Committee has not had a quorate meeting in 2011

2010 Minutes

The VCASA was not affiliated to UMSU prior to 2010.