Notice of Election 2015

Notice of Election

University of Melbourne Annual Student Election

7th – 11th September 2015

Notice is hereby given that nominations open at 12 midday on Monday 27 July, for the 2015 University of Melbourne Annual Student Election

Positions to be filled at the election include:

  • Office-bearers, committees and Students’ Council of the University of Melbourne Student Union (UMSU), including the Burnley Student Department and the Victorian College of the Arts Department
  • A student representative (for a two-year term) on the board of MU Student Union Ltd
  • Delegates to the National Union of Students (NUS)

A complete list of positions appears at the end of this notice.

Nominations close at 12 midday on Friday 14th August.

Polling will take place from Monday 7th September until Friday 11th September (inclusive). All students are eligible to vote. A detailed schedule of polling times and locations will be posted after close of nominations. Students may also vote by post – applications for postal votes close at 5pm on Wednesday 2nd September.

Tickets: Any fifteen (15) students may register a ticket to run in the election by filling in the appropriate form. Applications for Ticket Registration open and close at the same time as nominations. It is not necessary to be on a ticket to run in the election.

Tickets that are running candidates for multi-member positions should also submit a form showing the order in which they wish their candidates to appear. Candidates running for positions that cannot be held concurrently should submit a form showing which positions they wish to hold in case of a conflict.

Ticket registration forms, candidate order forms and conflict of position forms must all be submitted by close of nominations. All forms are available from the Returning Officer or can be downloaded from the election website (see below).

Policy speeches: Candidates may also, with their nominations, submit policy statements for publication in Farrago and on the election website. Policy statements must not exceed 300 words for UMSU office-bearer positions or 100 words for all other positions. A photo session for office-bearer candidates will be organized after close of nominations.

Please note that all deadlines are strict and cannot be extended. Candidates are strongly urged to lodge their forms well before the deadlines. All forms should be delivered personally to the Returning Officer or an authorised electoral official. (The Election Office will be open extensively throughout the election period, and appointments can be made by phone or email.) Where this is not practicable, please contact the Returning Officer to make other arrangements. Do not post forms without prior arrangement, as no responsibility will be taken for late or lost forms under those circumstances. It is not possible to accept faxed or emailed forms.

Contact Details

For all enquiries, forms and other election material, contact the Election Office: Old computer centre, fourth floor Union House; Phone: 03 8344 2438.

Or visit the Election website:

Returning Officer: Haydn Steel (Ph:0401 421 480)

Deputy Returning Officer: Stephen Luntz (Ph: 0438 667 787)


Mailing address: UMSU Returning Officer, c/o Above Quota Elections, PO Box 2157, Fitzroy, VIC 3065

Notices will also be posted on the Students’ Council notice board, first floor, Union House.

Positions for Election

UMSU Annual Election

Office Bearers:

  • President
  • General Secretary
  • Education (Academic Affairs) Officer
  • Education (Public Affairs) Officer
  • Welfare Officer
  • Wom*n’s Officer
  • Creative Arts Officer
  • Activities Officer
  • Queer Officer
  • Environment Officer
  • Media Officers
  • Clubs & Societies Officer
  • Indigenous Officer
  • Disabilities Officer

Students’ Council:

  • One representative of each of the following restricted constituencies:
    • Queer students
    • Indigenous students
    • International students
    • Graduate students
    • Students with disabilities
  • Fifteen (15) general members elected by all students

Seven (7) members on each of the following Committees:

  • Activities Committee
  • Creative Arts Committee
  • Disabilities Committee
  • Education Committee
  • Environment Committee
  • Indigenous Committee
  • Queer Committee
  • Welfare Committee
  • Wom*n’s Committee

Burnley Student Department:

  • Campus Coordinator
  • Seven (7) general Committee members

Victorian College of the Arts Department:

  • Campus Co-ordinator
  • Campaigns Co-ordinator
  • Activities and Events Co-ordinator
  • Seven (7) general Committee members

National Union of Students

Seven (7) Delegates to the National Conference of the National Union of Students Inc., in accordance with the rules of NUS

A student elected by and from all students to MUSUL Board for a two year term.


Nominations are open for the following positions for the remainder of 2015

  • Indigenous representative on Students’ Council
  • Burnley Campus Coordinator
  • Burnley General Committee

Restrictions on election

Any student may nominate for any position unless otherwise specified below.

The position of Media Officers must be held jointly by teams of three or four candidates. All other officer positions, except for President and General Secretary, may be held either individually or by two candidates jointly. Candidates who are running as a team should each fill out a nomination form and submit them stapled together, with a single policy statement.

Candidates for Wom*n’s Officer and Wom*n’s Committee must be women. For all other committees, including the Burnley and VCA Committees and the general members of Students’ Council (but not the NUS delegation), at least half of the members (ignoring remainders) must be women, provided there are sufficient female candidates.

Candidates for Queer Officer, Queer Representative on Students’ Council and Queer Committee must be Queer students. (See Regulation 32.4 for further detail.) A single candidate for Queer Officer must be a woman or trans*; in the case of joint candidates for Queer Officer, at least one of them must be a woman or trans*.

Candidates for Indigenous Officer, Indigenous Representative on Students’ Council and Indigenous Committee must be Indigenous students.

Candidates for Disabilities Officer, Disabilities Committee and the Disability Representative on Students’ Council must be students with disabilities. Candidates for International Representative on Students’ Council must be International students. Candidates for Graduate Representative on Students’ Council must be Graduate students.

Candidates for the Burnley positions must be enrolled at the Burnley campus. Candidates for the VCA positions must be students of the Faculty of the VCA and Music.

No person can stand for election if they are employed half-time or more by UMSU, the University, MU Student Union Ltd or related bodies, or any combination thereof. In the case of the University Council position that includes any casual employment with the University. No person can stand for an office-bearer position if they have already served two terms of office as an office-bearer.

For further information on eligibility to stand and to vote in the election, please consult the Election Regulations, available at the UMSU Office and on the election website. Copies of the Regulations can also be obtained at the Election Office, where further enquiries are welcome.


Haydn Steel

Above Quota Elections Pty Ltd

Returning Officer

17th July 2015