UHT Award Nominees and Winners 2021

UHT Award nominees are listed below with the winners from each section in bold.

Prizes proudly supported by the University of Melbourne Theatre Board


UHT Award for Participation and Enthusiasm

Leah Bourne
Marcie Di Bartolomeo
Lily Everest
Farhan Islam
Zadie McCracken
James Robertson 
Gabriel Tassoni

UHT Award for Production and Planning

Four Letter Word Theatre
Finn McHenry
Medleys – the Med Revue
Melbourne Uni Law Revue

UHT Award for Leadership within the Student Theatre Community

Four Letter Word Theatre – Ada Coxall
Janet Clarke Hall Play Subcommittee – Acacia Nettleton
Melbourne Uni Law Revue – Laura McKenzie and Ashley Stocco
Melbourne Uni Shakespeare Company Committee
St Mary’s College Drama Society – Zara Lukeis
University of Melbourne Musical Theatre Association

UHT Emerging Writer Award

An Dang
Liz Murdoch
Peter Turner
Chiara Wenban


Emerging Artist Award

Benji Arndt
Emma Burns
An Dang
Savier D’Arsie-Marquez
Animesh Ghimiray
Lucy Head
Zadie McCracken
Eden McLean
Zarafshan Sobti

Community Engagement Award

Olive Cullen – UMMTA Chorus
Fake Newspaper Theatre
Flare Dance Ensemble
Janet Clarke Hall Play Subcommittee

Access and Inclusion Award

Chelle Destefano
Marcie Di Bartolomeo
Bridie Turner

Experimentation in Digital Performance Award

Shravya Akkapeddi
Marcie Di Bartolomeo
Zadie McCracken

Ensemble Award

Dogfight – Intercollegiate Activities Council
Therapy in Hell – Fake Newpaper Theatre
Sitzprobe – UMMTA
Titus Andronicus – Melbourne Uni Shakespeare Company
You’re A Good Man Charlie Brown – UMMTA

Skills Development Award

Fake Newspaper Theatre
Delys Russell and Bridie Turner
Christina Savopoulos
Karen Spencer

Production and Technical Award

Lachlan Careedy
Eden Mclean
Tom Vulcan
You’re A Good Man Charlie Brown Production Team – UMMTA

New Work Award

Club Nite – Anjelica Angwin, Lotte Beckett and Matisse Laida
Icarus and the Falling Birds – Gaden Sousa and Torsten Strokirch
Rules of Love – Zadie McCracken
The Sitzprobe 2021 – UMMTA
Therapy in Hell – Marcie Di Bartolomeo

Student Theatre Group Award

Fake Newspaper Theatre
Janet Clarke Hall Play Committee
Melbourne University Shakespeare Company
University of Melbourne Music Theatre Association


The UHT Peer Mentor Red Jelly Future Takeover Award

Istvan Danko

Theatre Board Outstanding Commitment to the Community Award

Ada Coxall

Hannah Barry Memorial Award

Luke Macaronas  – This is my Body

Robert McDonald Award

Zadie McCracken

UMSU Creative Arts

Keen-bean-always-here-machine Award

Marcie Di Bartolomeo
Pooja Goel
Jess Norton
Karen Spencer
Torsten Strokirch
Victor Sun

Across-The-Sea Creativity Award

Akash Anil Nair
Pallavi Bharwani
Animesh Ghimiray
Pooja Goel
Leslie Ho

Mover-and-Shaker Experimental Art-Maker Award

Weiting Chen
Olga Dziemidowicz
Benjamin Perlmutter
Kitman Yeung