2022 Theatre Award Winners

These awards are generously provided by the University of Melbourne Theatre Board unless otherwise stated.

For the full list of nominees see HERE.

Hannah Barry Memorial Award

  • Angelique Zhou

Murray Sutherland Trust Prize

  • Alessio Mazza
  • Annese Lingafelter

Louise Homfrey Trust Prize for Performance

  • Tom Liszukiewicz
  • Sophie Kennedy

La Mama Award for an Emerging Theatre Maker

  • Victoria Winata

Dancehouse Award for a Dance Maker and Lover

  • Smriti Hosur

Pony Cam Award for an Emerging Producer or Performance Maker

  • Arky Ryall

Melbourne Theatre Company Robert McDonald Award

  • Sabina Donato

Melbourne Theatre Company Backstage Awards

  • Bridie Turner
  • David Elijah
  • Alanah Hardy

Audience and Community Engagement Award

  • Newsflash, Flare Dance Ensemble

Outstanding Performance in a Musical

  • Baxter Kay, Heathers, St Hilda's College Theatre Group
  • Saul Kavenagh, Firebringer, Intercollegiate Activities Committee ICAC 

Outstanding Performance in a Drama or Comedy

  • Freddie Carew-Reid, Endgame, MU Modern Theatre
  • Sophie King, Noises Off, Queen's College Music and Drama Society
  • Yufan Chen, The Hostage, Chinese Theatre Group

Outstanding Ensemble

  • Probation Police, Melb Uni Sri Lankan Students Assoc. MUSLSA

Outstanding Musical Direction

  • Bailey Montgomerie, Heathers, St Hilda's College Theatre Group

Outstanding Movement/Choreography

  • Jaimee White, Carmen Yih & Ella Clarke, Footloose, Uni Melb Music Theatre Assoc UMMTA

Outstanding Costume and Makeup

  • Katie Walker, Heathers, St Hilda's College Theatre Group

Outstanding Sound Design

  • Jiajie Zheng, Kill Mobile, Chinese Theatre Group

Outstanding Set Design

  • Louisa Fitzgerald, Noises Off, Queen's College Music and Drama Society

Outstanding Lighting Design

  • Zara Sadhai, Everyman, Ormond Drama

Outstanding Backstage Award

  • Backstage Team, Grease, International House

Creative Risk and Artistic Leadership Award

  • Ethan Francis-D'amour, Under the Influence, Four Letter Word Theatre

The Creative Arts Keen Bean Award

  • Jess Norton

GPG/UHT Development Award

  • Frankey Chung

UHT Peer Mentor Provocateur Award

  • Maleea Hegarty

Outstanding New Work or Script

  • Ensemble, Laugh, Actually, Melb Uni Law Revue

Outstanding Musical

  • Heathers, St Hilda's College Theatre Group

Outstanding Production

  • Haml3t - Melb Uni Shakespeare Company MUSC