Southbank Committee

The aims and objectives of the Southbank Department (formerly the Victorian College of the Arts Department) are:

(a)   to provide a suitable cultural and social climate on campus and create opportunities for, and encourage, the development of social interaction between Students.
(b)   to provide for, protect and develop the interests of Students with regard to financial, social, educational, professional and welfare matters and encourage interest groups and clubs and societies on campus.
(c)   to represent Students’ interests in any matters as deemed necessary or desirable by the Department.
(d)   to provide, or ensure the provision of, facilities and services for the academic support, professional education, refreshment, entertainment, recreation and convenience of Students.
(e)   to occupy and operate premises, which shall be a common meeting place and social centre for Students.
(f)    to assume other such responsibilities and organise and direct such activities as may be deemed appropriate for giving expression to the interests of the Department, or for carrying out any of the objects aforesaid.
(g)  to be represented within UMSU and to cooperate with the Departments of UMSU and contribute to the specified aims and objectives of UMSU.
(h)  to afford a recognised means of communication between students and the authorities of the campus, University, the community at large and other organisations of students.

Current Membership

The voting Representatives of the Southbank Department Committee are elected from Members who are enrolled in a higher education course at the Southbank Campus. The Southbank Committee consists of the Southbank Campus Co-ordinator, Activities and Events Co-ordinator and Campaigns Co-ordinator as voting members, the Creative Arts Officers as ex-officio non voting members and 7 voting members. The current members and the tickets they were elected on (if any) are:

Southbank Campus Co-ordinator

Hayden Williams and Verity Crane (Stand Up!)

Southbank Activities & Events Co-ordinator

Lily Etkins

Creative Arts Officers

Olivia Bell & Emily White (Pride. In [Y]our Collectives)

General Committee
Mia Brittain
Ruby Milner Stand Up!
Caleb Ribates Stand Up!
Jamie Kim
Evelyn Pohl
Will Hall
Emily Arenas Zarate


NB: This committee was called the VCA Student Association from 2013 to 2018

2020 Minutes

  • Meeting 1 – 4/12/2019 Confirmed
    Minutes 1(20)
  • Meeting 2 – 14/03/2019 Confirmed
    Minutes 2(20)
  • Meeting 3 – 21/03/2019 Confirmed
    Minutes 3(20)

2019 Minutes

2018 Minutes

2017 Minutes

2016 Minutes

The VCA Committee has not had a quorate meeting in 2016

2015 Minutes

2014 Minutes

The VCA Committee has not had a quorate meeting in 2014

2013 Minutes

NB: This committee was called the VCAM Student Association from 2010-2013

2012 Minutes

The VCA Committee has not had a quorate meeting in 2012

2011 Minutes

The VCA Committee has not had a quorate meeting in 2011

2010 Minutes

The VCASA was not affiliated to UMSU prior to 2010.