Education Committee

The Education Committee is responsible for both the Education (Academic) and Education (Public) Departments.

The aims and objectives of the Education Department include:

(a)    to initiate and coordinate education campaigns, particularly with regard to access and equity for all Students;
(b)    to raise awareness of educational issues among staff and Students;
(c)    to campaign and advocate on issues relating to the quality of education, Student rights, and the needs of specific groups of Students at all campuses; and
(d)    to monitor the implementation of education policy and teaching arrangements within the University.

Current Membership

The Education Committee consists of the Education Officers as non-voting members and 7 voting members. The current members and the tickets they were elected on (if any) are:

Education (Academic Affairs) Officers

Jennisha Arnanta & Planning Jay Vynn Saw (Community for UMSU)

Education (Public Affairs) Officers

Tejas Gandhi & Hannah Krasovec (Stand Up!)

Voting Members
Huiting (Whitney) Chen Community for UMSU
Sami Zehir Stand Up!
Nishank Jain Community for UMSU
Luka Michalczak Stand Up!
Jessica Blain Community for UMSU
Anna Olivia Smith Burnett Stand Up!
Sunny Yuqing Lu Community for UMSU


2021 Minutes

Meeting 1- 18/12/2020 via Zoom

Agenda 1(21)

1(21) Minutes

Meeting 2- 25/01/2021 via Zoom

2(21) Minutes

Meeting 3-  17/02/2021 via Zoom

3(21) Minutes

2020 Minutes

2019 Minutes

  • Meeting 1(19) – 06/12/2018, 5:45pm, OB Space, Level One, Union House Petitioned Confirmed
    Agenda 1(19)
    Minutes 1(19)
  • Meeting 2(19) – 21/01/2019, 4:00pm, OB Space, Level One, Union House Petitioned Confirmed
    Minutes 2(19)
    Minutes 2(19) Amended by Motion
  • Meeting 3(19) – 21/01/2019, 4:00pm, OB Space, Level One, Union House Confirmed
    Agenda 3(19)
    Minutes 3(19)
  • Meeting 4(19) – 05/03/2019, 12:00pm, Joe Napolitano A, Level Two, Union House Unconfirmed
    Agenda 4(19)
    Minutes 4(19)
  • Meeting 5(19) – 19/03/2019, 11:00am, OB Space, Level One, Union House Petitioned Unconfirmed
    Minutes 5(19)
  • Meeting 6(19) – 18/04/2019, 4:00pm, Mary Cooke A, Level Two, Union House Unconfirmed
    Agenda 6(19)
    Minutes 6(19)
  • Meeting 7(19) – 02/08/2019, 12:00pm, Mary Cooke A, Level Two, Union House Unconfirmed
    Agenda 7(19)
    Minutes 7(19)
  • Meeting 8(19)
    Agenda 8(19)
    Minutes 8(19)

2018 Minutes

2017 Minutes

2016 Minutes

2015 Minutes

2014 Minutes

Coming! -Sam Donnelly, 2014 Gen Sec

2013 Minutes

2012 Minutes

2011 Minutes

2010 Minutes

2009 Minutes

2008 Minutes