Queer Committee

The aims and objectives of the Queer Department include:

(a)    to actively increase visibility, awareness and acceptance of the presence of Students of all sexualities and genders on campus;
(b)    to encourage freedom of expression of all sexualities and genders at all levels of the University without fear of harassment or discrimination;
(c)    to combat queerphobic attitudes, violence and expression within UMSU, the University and the community;
(d)    to provide a safe, autonomous and discreet queer space or environment on UMSU premises;
(e)    to provide support to all Students having difficulty with issues of sexuality or gender;
(f)     to provide access to support services available in the wider community to Students seeking sexuality or gender related information or referral; and
(g)    to provide Queer Students with awareness of safe-sex practices and the prevention of sexually transmitted diseases, and to distribute information on sexual health issues.

Current Membership

The Queer Committee is made up of students who identify as those persons who identify as being within the category of Queer. Queer includes, but is not limited to, being same-sex attracted, homosexual, bisexual, pansexual, asexual, intersex, Trans*, or sex and/or gender diverse. The Committee consists of the Queer Officers as non-voting members and 7 voting members. The current members and the tickets they were elected on (if any) are:

Queer Officers

Andie Moore & Will Parker (More!)

Voting Members

Shana Cochrane                   Stand Up!

Ezra Bangun                          More!

Saloni Swaminathan           Stand Up!

Jackson Young                      More!

Natasha Bay                          Stand Up!

Sell Elliot                                More!

A’bidah Zaid Shirbeeni       More!


2019 Minutes

2018 Minutes

2017 Minutes

2016 Minutes

2015 Minutes

2014 Minutes

Coming soon

2013 Minutes

2012 Minutes

2011 Minutes

2010 Minutes

2009 Minutes

2008 Minutes