Environment Committee

The aims and objectives of the Environment Department include:

(a)    to oversee the activities of UMSU in relation to the environment, including campaigning on environmental issues and assessing UMSU compliance with environmental standards;
(b)    to develop, promote and implement policy on environment-related issues;
(c)    to make recommendations to Students’ Council, MU Student Union Ltd and the University on environmental practice;
(d)    to collect, collate, publish and disseminate information relating to environmental issues;
(e)    to raise awareness and discussion of environmental issues;
(f)     to liaise with relevant University bodies, environment organisations and Student groups on environmental issues; and
(g)    to campaign for the protection of non-human animal habitats, in particular the habitats of endangered species.
(h)  to educate Students and run campaigns aimed at preventing cruelty to, and exploitation of animals, and improving the welfare of non-human animals; and
(i)    to campaign to and liaise with the University on issues relating to the harmful use of animals in education and research where live non-human animals are used, or where an animal was killed prior to the class for the purposes of a class.

Current Membership

The Environment Committee consists of the Environment Officers as non-voting members and 7 voting members. The current members and the tickets they were elected on (if any) are:

Environment Officers

Sophie Kerrigan & Olivia Sullivan (Stand Up!)

Voting Members
Luca Cernaz Stand Up!
Nandini Shah Pride. In [Y]our Collectives
Dana Riley Stand Up!
Natale Froia Pride. In [Y]our Collectives
Louisa Sheridan Stand Up!
Emma Dynes Left Action
Brianna Symonds-Manne
Extend the Free Tram Zone


2020 Minutes

2019 Minutes

2018 Minutes

2017 Minutes

2016 Minutes

2015 Minutes

2014 Minutes

Meeting 1 – 17th March 2014

Environment Committee 17.03.2014 Minutes

2013 Minutes


2012 Minutes

2011 Minutes

2010 Minutes

2009 Minutes

2008 Minutes