Women’s Committee

The aims and objectives of the Women’s Department are:

(a)    to oversee the activities, Policy and direction of UMSU in areas related to promoting the advancement and welfare of Women Students including, but not limited to, education, Student rights, Student representation, equal opportunity, publications and media;

(b)    to promote and assist in the development and maintenance of high quality services within the University that are responsive to the needs of Women Students;

(c)    to advocate for Women within UMSU and the University;

(d)    to organise political, educational and social events which promote feminist debate and action;

(e)    to provide and protect safe, autonomous Women’s space on UMSU premises, and to maintain the materials, facilities and literature therein;

(f)     to provide Women Students with awareness of safe-sex practices and the prevention of sexually transmitted diseases, and distributing information on sexual health issues;

(g)    to facilitate a collective to produce the Women’s publication, Judy’s Punch, at least once per year;

(h)    to promote a culture of consent both within and outside sexual contexts

(i)      to ensure the participation of all Women in the activities of the Department, and UMSU generally; and

(j)      to act as a contact for Women Students, providing support, advocacy, information and referral as required.

Current Membership

The Women’s Committee is made up of people who identify as a woman as evidenced in the enrollment records of the University. The Committee consists of the Women’s Officers as non-voting members and 7 voting members. The current members and the tickets they were elected on (if any) are:

Women’s Officers

Anjana Abeyratne & Hannah Billett (More!)

Voting Members

Rachael Davies (More!)

Kareena Dhaliwal (Stand Up!)

Kim Duong (More!)

Molly Willmott (Stand Up!)

LeiLei Zhang (More!)

Ari Sikavitsas (Stand Up!)

Katherine Polazzon (More!)

Upcoming Meetings

Week Date Time Location Agenda
3 Thursday 16th of March 2017 1pm Women’s Office, Level 1, Union House Meeting 5 Agenda
5 Friday 31st of March 2017 2pm Women’s Office, Level 1, Union House  TBC
7 Thursday 13th of April 2017 1pm Women’s Office, Level 1, Union House  TBC
9 Friday 5th of May 2017 2pm Women’s Office, Level 1, Union House  TBC
11 Thursday 18th of May 2017 1pm Women’s Office, Level 1, Union House  TBC


2017 Minutes

2016 Minutes

2015 Minutes

2014 Minutes

Coming soon

2013 Minutes


2012 Minutes

2011 Minutes

2010 Minutes

2009 Minutes

2008 Minutes